Movie Soundtracks

Interstellar SoundtrackLately I have been listening to movie soundtracks during my working hours; specifically, movie scores.  Not that there isn’t anything wrong with compilation soundtracks – I have always rocked the Singles soundtrack since it dropped in 1992 – but my focus has been on the actual scores.

When I was in high school, I was a big fan of listening to Conan The Barbarian soundtrack by Basil Poledouris.  I found that score to be altogether haunting, heartbreaking and exciting.  I used to listen to this soundtrack when I needed to get pumped up for an exam or if I was going out on a date.  Hey, we all need to find our inner courage, by Crom!   I listed to that soundtrack for so long, I eventually wore out the CD.

I had recently wrote about watching Interstellar for the second time and finding it incredibly fun and since then, I have been spinning the original soundtrack by Hans Zimmer.  This then led me to the Man of Steel soundtrack (hey, I like the movie, alright?) and then to again to the Tron: Legacy soundtrack by Daft Punk.  I am a fan of Daft Punk but never really took a listen to the Tron score, even though I think Tron: Legacy as a movie is underappreciated.

Its funny the feelings you get when you listen to this type of music compared to a lyrical-song that we usually would listen to. Not only do the scores make me want to re-watch the movies, but they seem to inspire me in ways that my normal go-to bands cannot.

If its one thing I’ve been learning during this process, is its never too late to try new things.  Except beets.  I think beets look gross.

 

Leave a Reply

