Netflix and….Cough?

I’m alive! Or is this some weird Matrix like trickery?  No, i’m alive.  From April 14th to this past Monday, May 8th I’ve been fighting this weird cold-virus-disease thing.  This was worse than a man-cold, trust me. In fact, I couldn’t go see a doctor due to my poor, weakened state (women all roll eyes at this) so I had a doctor come visit me.  He told me that I may have the start of pneumonia.

So the good doc put me on meds with the hopes of fighting it off.  And since you’re here reading these very words, its safe to say that I survived.  That said, don’t you hate it when you tell people what the doctor has diagnosed you with and they just rip you to shreds?  This actually happened to me while I was dropping my kids off at school one morning, before heading home to bed:

Person:  Hey, how are you?

Me:  Ugh, Sick.  The doc thinks I may have the start of pneumonia if these meds don’t work..

Person:  Trust me, you don’t have pneumonia.  have you ever had it before? No? I have. You don’t have pneumonia.  There are two kinds of pneumonia, viral and bacterial.  If you have viral you would be in the hospital.  I was.  Its horrible. You don’t have that…

Me:  Oh, yeah I don’t think…

Person:  …or there’s bacterial pneumonia and if you had that, you wouldn’t be walking around so I don’t think you have that.  I’ve had that.  You don’t that.  Maybe you just have a bad cough.

Me: Yeah, maybe.  Ok, well, thanks.  See you tomorrow.

Person: Yup, see ya.

Its those times that I wish I had a massive cough and just did away with conventional etiquette and coughed in their face and gave them whatever ailment I had.  But alas, I refrained and went home to bed.  While sick, I watched a fair amount of TV.  It was funny, usually when you’re sick, you sleep all day.  I couldn’t.  I just could not get any sleep.  So I spent my time watching Netflix. Lots and lots of Netflix.  I took some screenshots and X’d out the ones that were either a) watched when I wasn’t sick or b) watched by my kids.  I think you’ll be able to discern which follows under which category.

sick-netflix-1.jpg

sick-netflix-2.jpg

Ok so listen, apologies for the ridiculous pics.  Maybe in my head the execution was better.  But regardless, this is what I watched, in order:

Five Came Back (all episodes); Lone Survivor; Silicon Cowboys; Dave Chappelle (first special); De Plama; Star Trek Beyond; Mechanic: Resurrection: Love (all of season 2); West Coast Customs (all of season 2…ugh); Entourage Movie; Suits (all of season 5); The Fear of 13; Better Call Saul (all of season 2); Captain America: The First Avenger; The Fifth Element;  Bill Nye Saves The World (only first 5 episodes); Interstellar; Ascension (episode 2).

Phew.  That’s a lot of Netflix.  Here’s where I realized I needed to be concerned. I’m not a car guy.  So why the hell was I watching West Coast Customs?  And why did I watch all 16 episodes?!?  I don’t deny that the guys are talented and the cars looked kinda cool, but how did I spend 7-hours and 20-minutes on this show???  I have no answers.  Frankly, I’m afraid of what the answer could be.  So I will accept what happened and move on.

The rest of the lot that I watched…some good.  I like Suits. I liked Star Trek. I quite enjoy Better Call Saul.  But then you get The Mechanic: Resurrection and that’s a pant load of a movie. The documentary Silicon Cowboys is not about fake boobs – as an FYI – and its an ok doc.  But The Fear of 13 is far more superior and I would recommend watching that.  Or De Palma, especially if you’re a fan of cinema.

The reality is this: despite watching some questionable content, thank the stars that we have Netflix. Because in the days before Netflix, you would be stuck with ridiculous talk shows, courtroom shows (Peoples Court, Judge Judy) and infomercials.

So, if anything, Netflix has saved us from the ridiculous and mundane. Now, if it can only save us from conversations with know-it-all asshats…

 

One thought on “Netflix and….Cough?

  1. Pingback: Second Opinions | Growing Up Forty

Leave a Reply

