Uncharted 4: Am I Bored?

Uncharted 4

I’ve previously written about how much I love my PS4 and that gaming at 40 (almost 41) is a wonderful experience. When I got my PS4 for my 40th last year, I was determined to buy the Uncharted Series because I had heard so many great things about it.  In the summer, I saw it was on sale for about $30 for 3 games.  That, my friends, is the Monty Hall of deals.  Sold!

I played the three Uncharted games back-to-back-to-back and loved them, with each game improving in quality than its predecessor.  I couldn’t believe how much fun these games were! Of course, in April 2016 the final entry in the series, Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End was released. I have an issue paying full price for a game (about $70-$80 in Canada) and that issue is my wife.  So, really, she has the issue and I personally enjoy the ability to breath without the assistance of a ventilator so…we’ve decided that I wont buy games at full price.

So when the holidays rolled around and it was on sale, I grabbed a copy of Uncharted 4 along with some other titles (including the outstanding Titanfall 2!). I started playing Uncharted in early February, expecting that I would be hooked, addicted…and….and I’m not.  I mean, the game is good.  Its damn, damn good.  And when I do play it, I really enjoy it but I havent had the hook to fire it up each night like I did when I played Titanfall 2 or The Last of Us (listen to me: play this game.  Play it!).

So, what does it all mean?  Does it mean anything at all?  Likely not.  But maybe.  Shit, I don’t know.  All I do know is that I really enjoy playing the game when I am playing, but I haven’t fired it up in about 3 weeks and the thought of doing so last night, tonight or even tomorrow night sounds more like work than fun.

Uncharted 4.2The game is gorgeous.  The gameplay is great.  This game has been given 9/10 and 10/10 scores on numerous gaming sites.  I get it.  Its good.  But something….something isnt hooking me to want to go play it again.  Selfishly…I somewhat thought that by writing this would give me the urge to ditch the family and fire up the adventures of Nathan Drake.

But instead, I kinda want go go back to continuing my third trip down Neflix’s Daredevil (season 1).  Now for that, I am a total junkie.

 

Leave a Reply

