Suicide Squad. What’s It Worth? 

img_6612This movie is an example of when the marketing for a movie is far better than the actual product. The lead up to Suicide Squad was unreal. I couldn’t wait to see it. The trailers made it look so damn awesome.
And then the movie hit in August (2016) and…it was ok. I mean, it wasn’t a big pile of shit. But it wasn’t the awesome spectacle that the trailers made it out to be.

I’ve stared it before, I’m a DC comics fan. I want these movies to work. I want them to be awesome and fun and looked at with the same love as Marvel movies are. But so far, DC movies are a distant second to Marvel.

Suicide Squad was released in December on home video/digital download. The price for the Blu Ray/DVD combo (extended cut) was $30 Canadian and then settled down to about $25 CAD. That’s way too much for Suicide Squad. Sorry, but that’s the truth. As a DC fan, I want to own this movie but not for $25.

Imagine my surprise when I was shopping at Costco (Canada) on Saturday and found it, on sale, for $14.97. Now this?  This is a price I can get behind. And I know some people would disagree and say that $15 is too high a price for Suicide Squad. But I plunked down the $15 gladly and look forward to watching it again.

Of course, part of me is nervous it’s gonna be worse than I remember.

Sigh.

Leave a Reply

