Lethal Weapon

lethal_weapon1Last week I wrote about a number of movies that were bouncing around inside my head that I needed to watch (I’m a Movie Junkie. It’s True) and last Friday night I watched Lethal Weapon.  Again.  For some uncountable time…maybe 50-something times.  Or more.  who knows.

Regardless, I watched it and I loved every minute of it.  I love the Lethal Weapon movies.  In fact, all four of them are just really, really good movies.   Its hard to find a movie where all the sequels hold up.  And while they’re not as good as the original, I think a case can be made that Lethal Weapon 2 is right on par or just under.  3 and 4 were more comedic and yes still a lot of fun action involved.

Every time I think of Lethal Weapon 2, all I can think about is “Diplomatic Immunity!”.  Fuck I love that line.  I often wonder if, when my kids are able to watch these movies, they will find the pure joy in them that I have or will they think they’re too dated and old and crappy?

There is something so pleasurable about seeing a good, hard action movie that doesn’t involve tonnes of special effects and computer wizardry.  That’s likely why I love the Lethal Weapon series.  You don’t need to be The Matrix all the time.  You don’t need green-screen, computer graphic-based action movies to be good. In fact, most times those movies cost hundreds of millions of dollars and suck ass.  Just give me a good action movie with fun and guns and fighting and you’ve got my money. Take it!

But again, maybe this is all because I grew up in the 80’s and find the quality of these flicks to hold up better than modern action movies. I dunno.  What say you?

Oh, and I know there is now a Lethal Weapon TV series.  I’ve begrudgingly watched the first few episodes and I’ll discuss that later in another post.  Suffice it to say, though…go watch the movies instead.

 

One thought on “Lethal Weapon

  1. Pingback: Die Hard: Five Films, Four Too Many. | Growing Up Forty

Leave a Reply

